For many years, violent behaviours have always been associated with the male gender. Do you agree that men are more inclined to commit crimes and have antisocial behaviors than women?

Men have always been blamed for brutal acts since the beginning of human civilization and somehow they are also thought to be more prone to commit crimes and have mental disorders. In my opinion, however, I strongly believe that both male and female gender have equal chances of being law offenders and psychopaths, regardless of natural features and inclination. When asked to picture an image of a brutal person, a criminal or even a psychopath, almost everyone will think of a man rather than a woman. However, I believe this perception is nothing more than a misleading stereotype. In fact, in my opinion, criminality and potential ill mental state are either the nature of all or none of the genders. The male gender is thought to be more violent since negative behaviours of this sex are more prevalent due to physical advantages and biological differences, hormones to be precise. But, inclination to abusive manners or even crimes has nothing to do with physical strength, in fact, it is more related to psychiatric and psychological fields. There have been scientific papers that state that both sexes have an equal chance of being mentally unstable, despite the gender ratio varies between different types of illness. For example, women are four times more likely to have depression than men but in contrast, the boy: girl ratio in autism is 1: 4. Therefore, determining one’s criminal inclination only base on their inborn biological features is injustice, anti-scientific and irrational, not to mention that there are also strong subconscious boundaries such as fear of punishment and common sense. Moreover, the upbringing environment, such as parental influence and education, also plays an essential role. According to data, most lawbreakers come from countries or regions that are either economically underdeveloped, uneducated or capricious. The most prominent evidence is the crime rate in different countries which varies dramatically according to regional and social features of each nation. While the Netherlands, a First World country, has to close down its prison due to the major decline in offenders number, Brazil does not have enough cells to keep all of its inmates, about half of which are women, without violating any safety and hygiene standards The chaotic situation in Brazil represents most Third World countries where people are living with grave difficulties that pave way for illegal businesses. There are also records of female drug lords, serial killers, smugglers and even war criminals with charges such as genocide. These aforementioned felonies are often considered to be too immoral or psychopathic for women to commit which proves to be untrue. Hence, judging one’s criminal inclination by no specific criteria besides genders is completely incorrect and misleading. As for antisocial behaviours, they are more of a mental disorder rather than a kind of personality, and mental illnesses have no specific gender preference. Some people might argue that since females are more complex in thinking, they are more likely to have an unstable mental state. However, this particular disorder is caused by the over usage of addictive substances such as alcohol and opium or negative after-effect from past incidents, thus having no connection with gender. In conclusion, inclination toward criminality and the chance of having a personality disorder is not related to gender despite the fact that men are more likely to violence than women, therefore easier to violate laws. Male and female should be considered as equally potential in every aspect, not just only the ones that have been mentioned beforehand.