Nowadays, there is a greater focus at all levels in education on science and business studies rather than the arts. do yu think this is a positive or negative development?

Education system always attach great importance to the choice of the subjects that should be taught to pupils and in the last decades science and business studies have been considered the main direction towards school should direct students, this inevitably lead to a lower focus into arts subjects. Even if this tendency can generate some benefits for students, more disadvantages are actually caused. Those who believes that the dominance of science and business studies in the teaching world, has positive effects, point out that these subjects help students build analytic skills, such as scientific research methods and calculus, that are vital for the job market. Additionally, they are often associated to the development of problem-solving abilities, through the analysis of business cases or solving experiments, that are another great points of strength when it comes the time to find a job. However, I personally consider the previous arguments not able to stand up a scrutiny because, in contrary to what expected, arts can also provide solid foundations for the job market. For instance, rather than teaching a fixed method, they guide people to build up a personal way to approach problems because in arts there are no boundaries between wrong and right. Besides that, creativity can receive an enormous boost during their practice, and, from recent research, it is one of the skill most appreciated by job recruiter. Finally, arts, while teaching people to express their emotions, help them relax that is something fundamental for facing the high-speed pace faced in modern society. In conclusion, although focusing on subjects as science and business can be positive for students, arts should be present in school programs and a greater importance should be attached to its teaching because otherwise children will experience a variety of losses in their learning process, leading to a negatives developments.