Nowadays, there has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether history is a precious source of information for us or not.

Nowadays, there has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether history is a precious source of information for us or not. While a number of people believe that learning in the past does not gain any benefits, I would like to argue that history could teach us valuable lessons. There are various compelling reasons why some people think that it is useless to do research on what happened in the past. Firstly, it is undeniable that history is not a technical aspect which could enhance any skills of people in modern life. For instance, many people prefer paying attention to science or technology rather than concentrating on researching something which does not bring values to the present or future. In addition, most students nowadays find no interest in history even though it is a compulsory subject at school in Vietnam. To be exact, many students give the reason that it is difficult to remember the time and events particularly. However, some arguments can be made that the effects of history certainly have much value in various ways. First and foremost, the events from the past help young people have more knowledge about their own culture and how their country has cultivated. For example, the youth of Vietnam should understand how their forefathers had defended in the past for their comfortable life nowadays to develop their pride in the nation. Furthermore, from the past, people can point out the mistakes, therefore, they could have practical experiences to avoid future faults. In conclusion, while I accept that looking into the past may have some drawbacks, I strongly believe that its benefits are greater.