More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other items from famous brands. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In these days, more incomes people earn, more people want to buy items from famous brands. I think this problem has both cons and pros. On the one hand, buy objects from luxury brands has some advantage. Firstly, many people think that famous brand is expensive but it is more modern and more useful than other. For example, Apple – a company always produces things with high cost, but many customers buy them. While Samsung also produces things which response more utilities. Secondly, many persons buy, which that country has a high average income. On the other hand, buy items from well- known brands also has some disadvantage. Firstly, some people can't afford to live but still buy luxury things because of their passion, for the sake of dignity. In fact, they want to show themselves to their friends. Secondly, this activity is detrimental to handmade goods, traditional goods. Because some people think they are old – fashion and worthless. In conclusion, I see this issue as both pros and cons.