Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

Technological developments in this modern era have transformed the way we socialise. Advancements in communication networks have played a vital role in bringing people closer. In my opinion, there are both pros and cons of this development and this essay will analyse how technology has changed the types of relationships made by people. In ancient times, people used letters and telegrams to interact with each other. With the advent of modern communication systems like the telephone and the Internet, people can collaborate more effectively. For instance, we can interact through emails rather than letter and businessman can have online meetings through the conference calls. Another reason is the widespread use of social networks over the internet; for instance, Facebook, where men and women can now make friends online and interact with them through the post, message and online chat. Video conferencing in the form of Skype has improved instructor and student relationship. Online messaging platforms like mIRC has given people the luxury to choose their own discussion-based chat rooms. There are more ways to socialise now than they used to be in past. All these advancements in technology come up with their merits and demerits. Letters, memos and telegrams are replaced by emails and text messages. Human resource hiring can be done through online video conferencing which has eliminated the need for physical presence and travelling requirement. We can now mingle more through Facebook, Pinterest, Google+, Instagram and Orkut and so on. Though one can regard these as positive developments, they do have some negative aspects. These developments have isolated people and discouraged real-world interaction. For instance, youth, in particular, prefers to choose to mix up with people online rather than socialising with them in the real world. To conclude, technology has no doubt revolutionised the way we interact and hang out but has greatly reduced real-world interaction. Though these virtual relations tend to be positive, we should not deny the importance of physical interaction in our lives.