It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is thought that children can learn to distinguish between bad things and good things when they are little boys and girls by punishing them when they did wrong. In my opinion, I completely disagree with it and will explain it in this essay. Children need to understand what things they can do and what things they cannot do when they are at an early age. Although punishing them may make them realize that they have conducted wrong things and force them to remember not to do the same wrong thing again. Adults always used to criticize kids with blame words even corporal punishment in order to give them a lesson and force them to memorize it forever. Such punishments are too powerful for little children because their minds and bodies are under development. In other words, children who suffer the penalty will have a painful memory, which may affect their career and life negatively and unhealthy. Seriously, children who fear to be punished will find a way to avoid punishment rather than learning from the mistakes. That is, the penalty cannot be used to teach young children how to tell the difference between correct and incorrect when children have only received blame or physical punishment. In that situation, they just want to avoid being punished again so that they gradually become liars and do not want any responsibilities when growing up. Thus, it is not a good way for children to learn rules from rebuke, hit and fire when they are very young. In conclusion, I think punishment can cause harm to young children mentally and physically and push them to tell lie so that I do not agree with the opinion that it is necessary for children to understand right and wrong by punishment.