Nowadays, the increasing rate of crime has been a major concern of every society, and it is mainly due to the failure of law and order enforcement by the governments.

Nowadays, the increasing rate of crime has been a major concern of every society, and it is mainly due to the failure of law and order enforcement by the governments. Several people believe that the offenders must be prisoned in jails in order to get a chance to rehabilitate them. However, I completely disagree with this idea and in this essay, I will support my opinion with examples. Firstly, life in a lockup is far more comfortable for prisoners. In other words, they have all the luxuries of life behind the bars, such as watching television, playing sports and other basic necessities are available for lawbreakers. Consequently, inmates commit those false activities regularly through which they can get imprisoned. Another reason for my disagreement is that those who perform misdeeds are frequently street criminals which are not a danger to a community. Take mobile snatchers as an example, if they are placed inside the same cell as professional killers and robbers, they will learn harmful stuff from these thieves. As a result, such citizens will become a threat to that nation. In my opinion, we shall look for alternative means in order to decrease these felons. As the majority of these wrongdoers have obligated it under various necessitations, it is merely required to put them on the right path. For instance, if someone has snatched a cell phone, he should be sentenced to work for a welfare institution for a month or two without any pay. Moreover, the government shall focus to determine the cause of evil, and utilize its resources to reduce it. In conclusion, it is undeniable fact that the detention centres are beneficial to the population as it keeps away serious bandits. Nevertheless, individual and collective measures shall be taken to minimize and improve the overall circumstances of petty thugs, and hence they can avoid these tricks in the future.