Nowadays, the crime rate among young people is increasing. Why do you think tis is happening? What can be done by parents and teachers to reduce it

Juvenile delinquency is a serious matter of concern due to its rampant rise in recent times. It is heart-wrenching to see young people committing serious crimes in the society. This essay will delve into the root cause of this scenario and shed light on the possible measures to combat it. One of the major reasons for the proliferation of crimes amongst adolescents are attributed to drug addiction, unemployment and troubled childhood. One of the most prominent cause being drug abuse and alcohol. It is not a rare sight to see adults falling prey to these habits and losing control over themselves and resorting to heinous crimes. For instance, we generally see lot of fights and crimes outside pubs in any cities. Law enforcement agencies also link crimes to drug abuse. In addition to this, unemployment has been a contributing factor to this sorry plight as youth often resort to committing crimes to earn a livelihood. Although these are serious concerns, there are numerous ways to curb these crimes. The onus on the same lies on the teachers and parents to instil morals and values in the minds of youth. They must make their children aware of the consequences of these crimes and the range of punishments that a person would be liable to and there is no escape from the court of law and police officials. This will create fear in the minds of youth and will refrain from indulging in terrifying crimes. In addition, the law enforcement agencies should adopt measures such as including severe punishments for the offenders and an efficient system where youth are informed about the repercussions of crime. To recapitulate, drugs and alcohol are one of the root causes and measures can be taken by teachers and parents to educate them and bring them in the right direction through education and counselling.