Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

Some people argue that scholars should master essential academic subjects whereas others think that they should master the science of food and cooking. In my opinion, subjects such as Science, social, mathematics and so on are important for gaining academic knowledge on the other hand, cooking and the science behind food will help children in leading a smooth life. Lessons on theories, methodologies and proven concepts are thought in schools and colleges and are given more importance. Teacher and parents assume that only the topics thought inside a classroom are vital for securing a job and gaining knowledge. Pupils are restricted from playing games or watching television in order to gain more marks when the examinations are nearing. Food science, a lesser discussed topic is more important for any individual. This will enhance our view on eating healthy and also, having a nutrient enriched diet. Obtaining knowledge in Science of food will help every student in a positive view on food and also wastage of food will decrease gradually. Extra-curricular activities such as cooking, sports, gardening, drawing will bring out creativity in the students and can be continued as passion or hobby. According to me, Science of food and the art of cooking is equally important as studying Science or maths in ones life because, academics will help students in building a career whereas cooking or food science will provide an added benefit in the well-being of the students. Cooking in the leisure time helps students to get over the stress and burden of exams and homework. A passionate hobby can become a career so it is every essential to support and help students in cultivating hobbies along side studies.