Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Today technology is being used as one of the ways to control people’s actions through phone calls or monitoring cameras. In many situations, however, people are not awared about that fact that they are being monitored. In my opinion, benefits of people’s being watched by cameras outweigh drawbacks. From the one side, monitoring people through cameras or cellphone tracking has positive effects for both society and individuals. Firstly, it would be easier for government to identify people who are planning crime. For example, terroristical actions and halt them by arresting. Moreover, if they are caught up by police officers, it would be safe for society to avoid tragical influence from criminal actions. Secondly, watching people through monitoring cameras would be helpful for individuals in terms of being more ethical. In other words, if people are awared of that fact that they are under monitoring, they unlikely might behave themselves in inappropriate way. Therefore, watching people through security cameras has positive influence for both community and individual. From the other side, ther is few number of supporters who claim that controlling people through calls or security cameras would lead to destruction of their privacy. In their opinion, these actions from government can build up in people untrustful attitude towards state. However, I consider that these beliefs are not standing reasons to stop monitoring people because these actions are being done only for people’s security. Therefore, there are more beneficial sides of monitoring people rather than negative ones. To sum up, while people may vary in their opinions, I believe that controlling people is more advantageous.