Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing

Technology is innovating more rapidly than what we expected. Artificial intelligence is getting closer to our reality every single day. And if you can not notice this, just try to say out loud: Okay Google, Alexa, hey Siri. If you have a response in any way, that means that you are part of this accelerated process. As we all know, technology nowadays try to make the users expirience even more personalized than it was before. That is the main reason of when you go and google search a specific product or service, and immediately, after you finish, you go to Facebook. You will be surprised how the advertisements probably will be about what you just searched few second ago. Clearly this can help us to find exactly what we need or want in a easier way. However, this also means that we are being monitored and we are totally unaware about it. Yes, it sounds like a Black Mirror episode, but it is no more than the truth. As I just mentioned before, this kind of technology that monitors every single thing we do can bring us a wide range of advantages and disadvantages. Let’s focus on, what I consider as the main disadvantage, and that is privacy. It is almost impossible for us to know if big technological companies such as amazon, samsung, apple, etc, are actually respecting our privacy. What if I send to my mom a direct message with my credit card information? Will they treat this sensible information as it should be treated, or will they use it in their favor? Sadly we do not know. This is actually a thought I have every time I send my mom a picture of my crad. That is why I truly believe that we have to be extremely precautious when we are dealing with sensible information. To conclude I would like to say that even though advantages can be incredibly surprising, disadvantages can be worse than what we can imagine, so let’s be careful at all times.