Nowadays sugar based drinks are consumed more by people. Why this so? What can be done to reducing this?

These days, the consumption of sugary drinks is significantly growing in some parts of the world. This is not only because of the appearance of this kind of product in our daily life through advertisement but its taste and price as well. However, this problem is likely to be solved if the Government increase its price and individuals raise their awareness about health protection. There are two main reasons why people are using more and more soft drinks. One reason is that it is easily seen on the media and in public areas. Manufacturers usually pay the large amount of money for advertising their products on television or newspapers with the purpose of driving sales. They also develop marketing strategies which are targeted at young people. Many vending machines are installed in public places such as schools, bus stations and cinemas in order to facilitate the customers’ need. Another reason is because people, especially children and adolescents are addicted to various flavors of these drinks and they don’t pay much for it. With an attempt to tackle this issue, the Government should rise the cost of sugar-based beverages. It means that people might have to spend more money, which will discourage them from buying it. Besides that, individuals need to understand the consequences of having the excessive amount of sugar in their body. They have to reduce the intake of sugary drinks so as to prevent them from some diseases like obesity, diabetes. In conclusion, although drinks with sugar are more ubiquitous in our society due to advertisement and cheap price, the Government and individuals may work together to limit the consumption of this product by the price increase and better healthcare.