NOWADAYS SOME PARENT GIVE MONEY TO THEIR CHILDREN IF THEY PERFORM WELL AT SCHOOL. DO YOU THINK ITS A POSITIVE OR A NEGATIVE DEVELOPMENT?

Some parents think that by giving monetary rewards to their children will encourage them to do better at school. In my opinion, this is a negative development which can lead children to feel neglected and always look for a rewarding system. One serious problem that can arise from monetary rewards is that children might feel unloved by their parents. They might think they need to do better in order to gain their parent's love and attention. That whenever they do not, their parents will care less about them. To illustrate, there is an increasing rate of suicide among younger generation in some countries because they are frightened to disappoint their parents and cause a disgrace to their family. Thus, giving monetary rewards might make them feel uncared for by their parents. Another issue is that children might grow up always looking for a prize for their every achievement or in whatever they do. This might become a habit for them to believe that there has to be a give and take in every situation. Additionally, they will not feel the urge to do anything if there is no prize at stake. For instance, children will not do household work if they will not be rewarded for it. Therefore, teaching children of a rewarding system might make them always look for it in their every action. To recapitulate, although monetary rewarding can be advantageous for children, this can make children feel unwanted and demand reward for their every good deeds done.