distance learning vs learning in classrooms

Owing to the rapid development of technology, universities and colleges now are allowed to provide online learning for a wide range of students to obtain their certifications and qualifications. In my opinion, compared to attending classes in person, distance learning has many significant benefits to students, such as flexibility and low costs. On the one hand, distance learning has no limitations of locations and time, which means students can attend classes anywhere in the world. For instance, an employee in Japan wants to study design courses in an university in Canada without quitting his job. Then, distance learning is the best choice for him. He can stay in Japan and study after work. Also, students have more choices in schools than before when they study online. Even though they live in rural areas, they still can study and access the resource online easily as long as they have the Internet. So, locations and the time won’t be obstacles for distance learning that brings student a great convenience. On the other hand, distance learning helps student save money and hassle in many aspects. For a foreign student, they have to apply for a visa or study permit to study aboard. However, they don’t need to spend time and money on the visa if they study online in their countries. What’s more, they don’t need to get used to a brand new life in a country which they’ve never been to. They can save this kind of costs for study materials and equipment instead. Some might think that studying in classrooms can help students have more connections with their professors and classmates, especially when they have questions. However, nowadays, its not a big deal for people to connect online and get real-time communication thanks to the developed technology and social media. Students are easy to get a variety of resource online. In conclusion, there’s no doubt that distance learning is convenient and helps students have chances to study efficiently. I think we should encourage students apply and learn what they want by distance learning, getting the qualifications to get higher achievements.