Nowadays, soft skills acquisition is a major component of human development worldwide

Nowadays, soft skills acquisition is a major component of human development worldwide. Some people advocate giving speeches and presentations should be an essential part of the children’s school curricula which I completely agree with. In this essay, I will analyze the elements of communication and leadership to support my opinion. Firstly, proficiency in communication allows children to build their confidence. To clarify, the accumulated experience of preparing deliberately, staying calm, and presenting comprehensively in front of the public help children overcome the fear of being judged and foster the concrete belief in their own ability. From my own experience, through several individual and group presentations in the English class, most of my classmates and I feel much more confident and calm putting yourself speaking in front of many people. Therefore, it is rational that soft skills such as giving speeches and presentations should be taught at school. Furthermore, public speaking is one of the necessary skills to build leadership. In addition to self-reliance, the skills of researching information and communicating with team members for preparation as well as the ability to convey ideas eloquently across the audience cultivate leadership characteristics in individuals. According to a survey conducted in Oxford University, social skills are not always emphasized in the academic environment, but are requisite to establish the student’s path to success. Hence, acquiring soft skills like giving speeches allow students to develop fundamental, leadership personalities. In conclusion, being taught to give speeches and presentations in school at a young age fosters children's confidence and leadership ability. Thus, I believe these skills should be taught as a way to encourage and inspire children to build more social skills.