It is understandable that most people would agree that prison is the best place to punish criminals out of concern for innocent people's safety.

It is understandable that most people would agree that prison is the best place to punish criminals out of concern for innocent people's safety. From my perspective, it should be used only as a last option, as there are better means for reducing crime. As far as I’m concerned, if all the charges were to go to prison and suffer the same punishment would not only help them become unrepentant, but it would also risk allowing some of them to not be easy to rejoin society. First of all, in fact, the classification of criminals is a necessary part due to directly determining a person's future, opportunity, status, and self-esteem; while some prisoners are not really a threat, such as pickpockets and shoplifters. I'm not persuaded that keeping these thieves together with murderers, rapists, and other violent offenders would decrease crime. It is possible for them to learn to commit more serious offenses. As a result of labeling them prisoners and society's rejection of their position and personality, no one can guarantee that they will not be corrupted. Therefore, less serious ones should be given other discipline than imprisonment. For example, petty crimes such as pickpocketing and shoplifting, as well as self-defense manslaughter for the purpose of protecting oneself may be considered to refer to community service, hard labor, financial penalties, and even additional commissions. Furthermore, many mainstream newspapers have noted that today's prisoner lives are far too pleasant, even from facilities to daily schedules. They are well-cared for, and their everyday jail lives are not unlike those of ordinary people. Of course, I understand being locked away is very different from being free, whether the conditions are good or not. However, it cannot be denied that such a system is both pricey for the government and does not provide a strong warning, punishment and rehabilitation, which is the main purpose of imprisonment. Nevertheless, it is widely believed that the prison is a place with high training and expertise in control and management, so prisoners here will be able to work and study to improve their thinking as well as achieve the purpose of rehabilitation through changing moral views, towards the right values ​​in life. Consequently, this will greatly minimize their future relapsing. To summarize, I do not object to the benefits of imprisonment, but it is not the only or even the best way to deal with criminals. For the reason that it is not completely appropriate in all situations and sometimes is not tough and warning enough.