Nowadays social networking apps or websites are increasingly getting popular among all classes of people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using them?

There has been a significant surge in the number of people who use social platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, WhatsApp and so on. There are clearly some benefits of surfing these websites, but those who use them can also face some issues which should be taken into consideration. To begin with, one crucial advantage that social media provides is instant communication which leads to stronger social cohesiveness. In other words, we can interact with our friends and family whenever we intend to, even if they live in a far distant place. This is very important because regular communication makes our bonds with our relations stronger. Apart from contribution to social relations, social sites can also help grow business because they keep track of their users. For example, these days, many new entrepreneurs promote their business on Facebook as it helps them to reach out to their potential customers at a minimal cost. However, social media does cause some problems. Perhaps the most serious concern is the proliferation of fake news. To elaborate further, with the help of social media, many wrong users intend to disseminate false news and rumors among the common people which often leads to social unrest. This situation is further worsened when uneducated people share the fake content without checking its validity. Another negative impact of social websites befalls school children because they are immensely tempted to overuse popular apps. There is proof that children spending too much time on social apps are reluctant to study harder as they enjoy bantering with friends on social apps. In conclusion, although social networks have brought many positives such as instant communication, an increase of social cohesion and a chance to develop business, it is important to consider their drawbacks as their side-effects can turn out to be very destructive.