Nowadays, public transportation plays an indispensable role in people’s travelling.

Nowadays, public transportation plays an indispensable role in people’s travelling. A number of people encourage we should get on buses, trains or undergrounds more owing to benefits they bring. While others say that it has numerous drawbacks so they prefer to use their individual cars. This essay shed some light on both beneficial and adverse sides of using public transport services. To begin with, the very first advantage of using public transit is that it is much more environmental friendly than numbers of private vehicles. As they burn less fossil fuel and emit CO2 less to the air, the air quality will be improved significantly. Additionally, public transport can carry passengers more than five or event ten private cars in some cases, it will automatically reduce traffic problems such as traffic congestion and road accidents. Second, travelling by public system is much economical than cars because ticket fee is cheaper than fuel cost. On the other hand, it is undeniable that public transport has some weaknesses. Such public services are time-bound, and an individual has to stick to a timetable to be able to use them. Public buses and trains, for example, have arrival and departure times. This makes public transport inappropriate in the event of an emergency as one cannot wait for a bus or train in such situations. Furthermore, buses or trains will halt at each stop and this can be waste of time. Not only that, public transport is considered to be not as safe as private cars due to many reported pick-pocketing. In conclusion, it is irrefutable that the usage of public transport services has both advantages and demerits which I’ve mentioned above. However, I think that its advantages outweigh disadvantages and it deserves to be used on the daily basis. The government should pay more attention on upgrading and improving public transport systems, therefore more and more people are attracted to use them.