Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of the news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the recent days, the usage of social networking sites like Facebook, twitter, google, and many more is quite popular. People rely on these agents not only to communicate, but to know about recent news as well. I think its advantages outweigh disadvantages. This essay will explore both the aspects of social media. To begin the positives, these sites introduce the world of virtual reality to people. This is because an individual can connect with his kith and kins sitting miles apart. To present an example, nowadays people prefer to video call their family members on traditional occasions to feel their presence, who are residing in foreign countries. In contrast, people have to stand in the long queue to hear the voice of their loved ones. Additionally, it has helped society to remove the conversation gap. Today we can chat, talk, share good memories, play games with a relative who is far away. For instance, during lockdown of the country, my brother, who resides abroad, use to play ludo with me to spend some happy moments. Whereas, in the past physical presence in the vicinity was must involve in some games. Furthermore, social media update the human not only in terms of trends, but regarding recent affairs like: charity, sexual assault, national crisis, and weather reports. These agents release news within no time, to clarify, I came to know about India is helping other nations regarding a medicine through Instagram. As every coin has two faces, so does these sites have. Firstly, national and international connection demand a good strength of signal. If the network is poor, then contact cannot be established and vice versa. Secondly, many cases of online theft have been reported while money transfer, which could be eliminated by proper use of safety programs. Finally, people could spread fake news; for example, a person remorse that his neighbour, who had travel history to Greece, is covid19 positive, though he was not. Despite these drawbacks, I believe slight awareness of people can assist in overcoming these issues. In conclusion, although the social sites pose certain threat to society in terms of robbery and wrong news, still it has many pros which cannot be neglected.