Nowadays, people tend to get carried away when going shopping and end up with products that are unecessary and way too expensive.

Nowadays, people tend to get carried away when going shopping and end up with products that are unecessary and way too expensive. This is caused by several factors including the industry's nature and logical factors, and this essay will discuss some measures to remedy the situation. Firstly, the main reason as for people getting in debt over buying things is due to how these industries operate. It is undeniable that we are living in a consumer-based world with thousands of companies and numberable attractive advertising campaigns. For example, whenever Apple publishes its newest iphone, those that already have one still go out of their way to purchase the latest version. In addition, there are also research papers that have stated that when people make expensive transactions, their brains release a small dose of dopamine, a highly addictive chemical. Thus, causing severe addiction over a long period of time. There are a few ways to tackle is issue. One possible solution is that people should be educate about the addictiveness of shopping and the importance of critical thinking. If they are equipped with this knowledge, they will only buy things that are absolutely necessary for them. Another solution is for the government to advocate shopping at local businesses which tend to have reasonable pricing when compare to prestigious brandnames. In conclusion, eye-catching advertisements and the correlation between shopping and addiction are the main reasons for this trend, but the proposed solutions such as education, promotion for small businesses can help to mitigate this problem.