Nowadays people spend more time on watching TV. Discuss advantages and disadvantages of this.

People have different views about effectiveness and drawbacks of watching TV. While there are some benefits of it, I believe that disadvantages are usually more. There are several benefits of watching TV. The main benefit is that it is the most effective media because it brings us closer to reality than book or radio programme ever can. For example, we can watch events as they take place on the other side of the world. Another advantage of watching TV is that we can be aware of up-to-date information which helps us in different fields of our life. From a personal point of view, some programmes are interesting, educational and fun. They are entertaining for families, friends and teach children to appreciate each other. On the other hand, sitting in front of TV for hours has some bad sides. Firstly, the main drawback is that it takes more time on spending the whole day watching your favourite movies. Secondly, sometimes it can cause to great inconvenience for our health like harming eyes. For example, one of my nephew spends the whole day in front of TV watching violence movies and now he has been taken to hospital in order to treat his eyes. Finally, programmes tend to be short and interrupted by advertisements, meaning that information is presented in limited depth. It may be disappointing for some people. In conclusion, I would argue that disadvantages of watching TV do outweigh its good sides.