Benefits of reading books

From the past to present, books have a crucial impact on our lives due to the knowledge they bring to human lives. Therefore, we can reap benefits from reading books. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages of reading books. First and foremost, we can broaden our knowledge about the world. There is much precise and valuable information about any field included in books. We can select any kinds of books that fit with our purpose to read. As an illustration, when we want to grasp physical experiences, we can read books which contain the reports of researchers on physics. Furthermore, reading foreign books can help us to learn other countries' cultures. When you read English books, you can recognize their writing style and utilize them. Beside giving us knowledge, books can also strengthen our brains. When we see unfamiliar facts about one aspect, we need to consider and identify if this information is accurate or not instead of assuming it. This process requires us to utilize our brain to search and arrange our knowledge. Therefore, we can reinforce our brain. Second, reading books helps us to get rid of depression. Fiction books allow us to escape the real world and be immersed in the story, characters. Therefore, when we have a tough life, we are still able to feel ecstatic, deliberately change our views of life and live positively. Not only fiction books, non fiction self-improvement books also teach us strategies to control and manage our symptoms. In 2009, with an aim to do health science programs in the United States, researchers measured the effects of yoga and reading books on students’ stress levels. The result showed that reading books for 30 minutes can lower the blood pressure, heart rate and the feelings of stress as effectively as yoga. In conclusion, books have a lot of advantages like giving people information, reinforcing our brain and making people’s lives more positive. Therefore, I think it is vital to encourage people to read books.