Nowadays, people prefer to shop at large shopping centres rather than in local shops or markets. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

The ever-evolving industrialization has led to an increase in huge malls instead of small individual shops and flea markets. Although some consider this as a negative development as it discourages business to small businesses, in my opinion, this is largely a positive development and the same shall be justified in the subsequent paragraphs. The major reason why large centres are preferred over traditional shops is that they provide a variety of brands including international ones under one roof. To cite an example, an extensive galleria named Phenix Mall situated in Mumbai makes available numerous labels at its location. This enriches consumer buying by making a variety of options available for choice. Apart from this, these centres are more favoured given the convenience they offer their customers. Service ranging from the spacious arena, discounts, window display, elevator and sanitization facilities, food court, game zones, creche facilities, salons etc. all contribute to making shopping an enjoyable activity, at times even a picnic for some families which is not experienced while purchasing from local shops and bazaars. While some people see this trend as having an adverse impact, in my opinion, it is a more optimal impact. Firstly, consumers benefit not only by having varied options but also by making the most out of the services they offer. Secondly, they generate employment opportunities for the masses as well as provide a platform for several goods and service houses to showcase and sell their products. At times, this also encourages healthy competition. To conclude, though large malls are being preferred over local markets, this trend is optimizing consumer shopping experience.