Nowadays, people own many consumer goods, such as refrigerators and washing machines. Is this a good or bad thing?

In the modern years, it has become common to have consumer items such as refrigerators and washing machines in people’s home. There are some advantages in terms of improving quality of life, however I consider there are also drawbacks due to environmental issues which should be concerned. Many years ago, there were times when people did not have a fridge, and they suffered from food poisoning because it was difficult to maintain a suitable environment for food preservation and to keep food in a cool place. Nowadays, almost every household has at least one fridge and it helps to improve food safety significantly. It is also definite that washing machines made people’s life easier and more efficient. Washing clothes by hand should take considerable amount of time and effort, and I cannot imagine how hard that would be to do the laundry for all family members. Now people rely on technologies in order to spend more time for what they like to do. In spite of those benefits by introducing technology, there are some environmental issues that we should not overlook. It is the fact that some people selfishly throw away large appliances anywhere not following the recycling process after it gets old. Top of that, relying on new technologies lead to more energy consumption. We need to find a way to preserve mother earth because our irresponsible behavior could be harmful to the environment. In conclusion, having consumer goods play an important role in people’s lives. However, it brings us not only a better life but also environmental issues to deal with.