Nowadays people make new friends through social networks and internet chat groups. Some people think this is good. Other think that face-to-face interaction is essential.

With the advancement in technology, social media platforms are becoming an indispensable part of the contemporary society. People prefer socialising through these platforms than meeting in person. This is both a boon and a bane situation which will be discussed in this essay. On one hand, the growth of various social media has affected the lifestyle of individuals. It has become a part and parcel of their life to communicate with old and new friends through these social sites as people from around the world can be found on sites like Facebook, Instagram, etc. Moreover, social media is a fast and a cheaper way of socialising without travelling to a specific place to meet people. On the contrary, this revolution has adverse effects too. Firstly, due to just online chatting majorly through messages, people nowadays lack confidence in talking in public as they are more confined within their personal space. Secondly, the bond between people has reduced a lot as they seldom meet with each other, thus resulting in fake relations. Last but not the least, the youth has started trusting and dating only through social media which sometimes results in falling in love with a wrong person. For instance, my friend found a compatible guy for her over Facebook, but later on he cheated upon her and this completely devastated her. This was not the case in the ancient world. People used to meet and then find a suitable match for themselves. To conclude, it is observed that the technology has given an ease of communicating, but relations are dying out gradually because of loss of face-to-face interaction as it is correctly said facial expressions play a crucial role in judging a person. Hence, both of these should go hand in hand.