Nowadays, people have argued about the function of video games. While a group in society supposes that these digital games are beneficial for mankind, others believe that they would be a distraction for the human mind. Although video game contains some positive sides, I consider it has more negative impacts on our minds and the following essay will discuss them in detail.

Nowadays, people have argued about the function of video games. While a group in society supposes that these digital games are beneficial for mankind, others believe that they would be a distraction for the human mind. Although video game contains some positive sides, I consider it has more negative impacts on our minds and the following essay will discuss them in detail. On the one hand, video games can be both entertaining and educational. Users or gamers are transported to virtual worlds which are often more exciting and engaging than real-life pastimes. From an educational perspective, these video games open opportunities and encourage gamers' imagination and creativity, as well as concentration, logical thinking, and even problem solving, all of which are useful and necessary skills outside the game context. Furthermore, it has been shown that computer simulation games can improve people's motor skills and help them to prepare for real-world tasks, such as flying a plane. However, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. First and foremost, gaming can be highly addictive because users are constantly given scores, new targets, and frequent rewards. Many children, nowadays, spend hours each day trying to progress through the levels of a game or to get a higher score than their peers. Secondly, this type of addiction can leave a profound impact on many facets, ranging from lack of sleep to problems at school, when homework is sacrificed for a few more hours on computer and console. Last but not least, the high rate of obesity in recent years has been linked in part to the sedentary lifestyle and lack of exercise that often accompany gaming addiction. In conclusion, it is noticeable that there are a plethora of benefits to playing a video game, however, I firmly believe that the potential dangers of it are much more significant.