Problems in Online Learning

Nowadays, we are facing COVID-19 pandemic which forces us to change our lifestyles and do almost every outdoor activity online. In education, students have to stay at home and learn everything like in the school days but in front of their computer instead. These new changes lead everyone to adapt and compromise. For example, in some schools, students can now download class materials and submit homeworks online more conveniently with a new platform. While there are some advantages with online learning, there are a lot of problems occurring as well. Online learning problems can be categorized into three main problems consist of health problems, material problems, and adaptability struggle. First, online learning affects health problems which are divided into two main problems, physical health, and mental health problems. Beginning with physical health, students are more at risk of eyestrain and short-sightedness due to prolonged staring at a screen. Excessive screen time causes an eye muscle to work harder to help the eyes focus. Moreover, sitting for hours without moving, which is not the same as onsite learning, is the main cause of Office Syndrome. On the other hand, the mental health problem, long-term online studying could lead to a lack of self-motivation. And last but not least, stress and anxiety are also other mental problems you could face while studying online. The second problem is the shortage of online learning materials, with poverty being the main cause. Families of low-income students did not have access to technology and tools for online learning, such as google classroom, google meet, zoom. Not every student has an iPad. They are flexible and engaging learning devices inside or outside of the classroom. Students can use them in school, at home, individually, or share them in bubbles. But some students can't afford it. Furthermore, many online students are encountering an adaptability struggle. There are many technical issues that students and teachers confront in the online learning system. For instance, poor network quality makes connection performance difficult. Therefore, the students have interrupted pictures and sound signals. Also, online learning forces many things to be done online, consequently creating a disparity from the difference in computer literacy skills. Some students are not as experienced as others at using software and dealing with files, thus putting them in a disadvantage position compare to others. Moreover, time management since our country has changed to online learning causes students to adjust time management in a day. It could be made students lazier because they don't have to go to school. Lastly, lots of teachers could not adapt to teaching students online. Most of the students’ opinions agree that teachers should not overestimate student comprehension ability when teaching online and not be too speedy and online students received less attention than those who are at school. In conclusion, it is to say that this is the time of technology thus online classes are good for many reasons. Online learning is a type of education system which allows students to learn about any particular course or subject from practically any place by just having access to a good internet connection and digital technology. And some of those challenges are health problems, material problems, and adaptability struggle.