Nowadays, people give preference to get married later in their life and have children after the age of 30. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is rightly said that, these days people prefer to get married later in their life and become parents after the age of 30 years. However, there are some merits of this trend, I would argue that there are far more drawbacks of this trend. Consequently, I consider it to be a negative development. To commence with, the main reason why people regard this trend as negative development is decreased fertility rates later in life. Moreover, there are an ample of evidences suggesting that fertility rates decline nearly 50 % after the age of 30. Thus, the chances of successful pregnancy later in life are very low. As a result, couples count on IVF treatments to have infants. Another striking reason behind this is that the offsprings of such couples come under responsibilities very early in their life. They have to take care of their elder parents. Furthermore, the people who give preference to have children after the age of 30, may be unable to contribute completely in the upbringing of their child. Beside this, such children are likely to feel the burden of their elder parents. Additionally, the third reason why this trend is considered as negative development the generation gap which it creates. Since, there will a big difference between the age of parents and their children, their thinking about various aspects of the society may differ, which can lead to conflicts between them. Take modern technology, for instance. People who have infants later in their married life may not be able to co-operate with developed technology as their children do. In conclusion, I consider it to be a negative development overall because of its detrimental effects on children's life.