Nowadays people can use computers to talk, learn and communicate without leaving home. There is a danger that it will cause more isolation and a lack of communication among people. with this statement?

In the last 10 years, the virtual world has changed the way we interact with people. It has been a game changer in the current generation. Although, people now prefer to use their electronic devices to interact with family and friends, I believe as time goes on, the dangers of using devices and having access to internet all the time will increase significantly. Back in the olden days, when people were bored or wanted to spend some quality time with friends, they would make the effort of meeting with each other. However, these days social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter have made it really easy to stay in touch with friends without having to leave homes. You can now even easily videocall a family member and it replicates the same feeling of meeting each other. In addition to the feeling, an individual can also multi task. Although this might be useful to the person but at the same time the person is giving divided attention and there maybe a communication gap. On the other hand, some introverts may find interaction over social media a lot easier and they might make more effort in maintaining a conversation virtually when compared to reality. Therefore, frequent use of computers and other electronic devices can increase communication between people who are shy and reserve in person. In a nutshell, the usage of electronic devices will have a detrimental effect on communication. Some may feel it helps them stay in touch with friends whilst having a busy job, others may feel face to face interaction is necessary to convey emotions. I would like to suggest a balance between the two is the best way forward.