Nowadays people buy a lot of unnecessary manufactured products. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, some people have really high quality of life, so they tend to buy goods that they do not need. Meanwhile, plenty of people protest this idea and they believe that we should live an economical life. While it may be true that encouraging shopping though people may has some benefits, buying right things is as efficient, if not more, for both the individuals and the governments. First and foremost, sufficent buying can save the environment. Consuming more things means we need more factories to meet the demands of consumers. More factories are built, more carbon dioxide released to the environment. This emission has tremendous damage, which means cause numerous environmental problems. For instance, a recent research shows that, when the Covid-19 pandemic comes, the economy goes down, so the demands have diminished to suitable with the circumstance. When the amount of products overcomes the need, factories need to cease the production progress, which means the humongous amount of carbon dioxide can decrease. Some people will counteract with this idea and say that buying overwhelms the need allow the economy to grow. This may be true. However, the expenditures to pay for the damage of the environment is expected to significantly increase. The profit has the ratio with the tax for the environment. More profit can make, more tax need to be cost. Furthermore, enough buying can save a lot of money to do some meaningful activities. With that amount of money, people can spend it doing many things. To illustrate, people can send money to do charitable work, help impoverished children pursue their dream to come to school. Today, the majority of us have opportunities to go to school and we believe that is a really simple thing. But in somewhere, many adolescents have to drop out of school because of lacking money for tuiton fee. With the quantity of money that we spend wastefully, a lot of teenagers can continue to follow their learning progress. Not only that, with some intelligent consumers, the amount of cash that they have saved can use in some life-long ambitions. These days, plenty of people have abundance of wishes such as: travelling around the world and so on, but they never can achieve that due to the shortage of financial condition. Meanwhile, wise buyers can easily do their targets with a reasonable buying list. They can do lot of works that the extravagant consumerism never can. In conclusion, we can not negate the role of buying, but the economical buying is more advantagous because of two primary reasons: saving the environment and money. So, I disagree with the idea of buying things that we do not need.