Nowadays people are tending to have kids when they are older. What are the reasons of this? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern era, we have witnessed many changes in the way human-beings live and behave, notably is the fact that people are having kids a lot later in than they used to do in the past. The reason behind this phenomenon is largely attributed to the increase in the number of illiterate women and the costly price of raising up a child. With both of the advantages and disadvantages taken in consideration, it is my firm conviction that neither of them outweigh the other. To begin with, there are many reasons why people postpone this life landmarks. Firstly, more women are joining the work force as more young girls are receiving the education they were taken away from. Unlike the past, women are now able to attend higher education, conferring them the right to make a living by themselves. For that reason, women tend to have kids only after they have landed a stable job. Secondly, the market is getting more competitive and it is tremendously hard to get a steady life. Being fully aware of how expensive it is to bring up a child, adults plan on having them later in life when they are more financially secured. Just like any other thing, this trend has its own advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, delayed childbearing allows children to grow up in a more financially stable household. Adults who plan on having kids later have more time to build their wealth, thus being able to meet their children's financial needs, such as school tuition. On the other hand, being pregnant at an old age is medically more risky for women. Since it is a health-related issue, the downside of delayed childbearing must be carefully taken in consideration when family planning is done. To conclude, it is observed that people are having kids at an older age, as a result of women being more educated and how expensive bringing up a child can be. Although the advantages of delayed childbearing are very economically beneficial to both parents and children, they can not outweigh the disadvantages that are related to the health of the mother and infant.