It is expected in the near future that there will be a higher proportion of old people compared to younger population in some countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is commonly witnessed that in some countries there will be a higher amount of old people compared to younger section. Both the merits and demerits of this will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. The first and foremost merit of higher amount of older people will be seen in the near future as old people are considered as the valueable citizens of the society. The advices, opinions given by them give tremendous benefits to the society. It is widely seen that their opinions are more sound and practical. In addition to this, old section of people have more experience due to which they provide valuable guidance to others. The guidance provided by them is boon for the people. Another clear merit is, values imbibe by significant number of old section of society have resulted to protect the culture of the country. The old generation people are cognizant and have insight of culture and values. Furthermore, values can be incorporated from them and can be applied practically in one's life. They provide a direction to the people. According to a research conducted by an eminent Sociologist, Henry cook at Harvard University, it was revealed that higher proportion of older people have remarkable ability to protect the culture and values of the country. On the contrary, higher group of older people have some disadvantages like according to modernised time, older people are unfamiliar with the tasks that a younger individual has to do for their livelihood. They lack in deep knowledge of today's jobs and practicality. Besides this, old people are not sturdy to work physically that younger generations can do. They are deprived of enthusiasm, energy level and work level and if there will be higher amount of them, the economic comprehensive growth will hamper. The economy will not be financially viable too. To conclude, although older section of people have positive effects on the society as well as people, the drawbacks of task management and economic growth need to be considered.