Nowadays, people are affected by social media and the Internet. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using social media?

Social media is becoming increasingly popular and has a certain influence on our daily lives. Nobody can deny the benefits that social media brings us; however, my view is that it has both advantages and disadvantages. Our lives have become easier and better as a result of the advancement of social media. The first advantage is that it helps people improve their relationships. Distance is no longer a matter of concern when we can send emails, messages within a few seconds or make an internet phone call. It allows us to make new friends as well as keep in touch with those living anywhere around the world. Next, social media is a beneficial source of education. During the time of the serious COVID-19 pandemic, both teachers and students totally can take part in online classes. Thanks to social media, they can learn together, share knowledge and easily practice their English skills with native speakers or teachers at home. On the other hand, social media also has some drawbacks that affect users a lot. Firstly, it lacks privacy and exposes users to government and corporate intrusions. When we fill in their personal information like emails and telephone numbers to register a social network account, some bad guys can steal them for (bad) nefarious purposes. Secondly, students who are heavy social media users tend to have lower grades. For example, they spend a significant amount of time on vast networking sites. Some of them sit in front of computers all day to chat or play games, so they may become addicted to it. This causes them to be distracted from their lectures, and their learning results will suffer as a result. In conclusion, because of the positive and negative sides, we should manage time appropriately to use social media in the best ways and avoid taking advantage of it as well as being dependent on social media.