How important it is that children eat healthy? Who has the responsibility to provide meals to school-children?

Education plays a relevant if not determining role in a country’s development. For that reason, it is fundamental that we provide children the best learning environment. One factor that positively affects children’s study skills is a balanced diet. This essay will discuss the importance of eating healthily in improving children’s academic achievement and the responsibility that school and families have in ensuring that children receive adequate meals during their day. To begin with, as human beings, we are constantly in need of energy. We stay alive and active by eating food. Consuming the right amount and right variety of food thus assuming enough vitamins, proteins and minerals each day enable us to perform our tasks with physical strength and mental lucidity. This is extremely important for school children as effective learning requires maximum concentration. If children do not eat healthily, they would eventually feel tired and unfocused on their lessons. Moving to another point, schools should provide children healthy meals at lunch and healthy snacks at break times. Meanwhile, families should take care of children’s eating at breakfast and dinner. Government should give subsidies to schools for students’ meals so that families wouldn’t have to pay food costs. Every child has the right to education and similarly, every child has the right to receive a healthy meal or whatever tool that he or she needs in order to learn. In conclusion, it is true that children who eat healthily at school find the learning process easier. Schools, families and governments all have to take part in caring for children’s nutrition.