Nowadays, online shopping becomes more popular than in-store shopping. It is a positive or a negative development? Discuss the reasons and effects of online shopping.

In a technology-driven society, the form of shopping has considerably altered. People have a tendency to use e-shopping via computers or mobile phones instead of going shopping directly in the store. While there is an undoubted benefit of this trend, the convenience, there are also significant drawbacks, namely the unguaranteed quality of products. This essay will look at both sides and argue that the advantage outweighs the disadvantages. One of the most important advantages of online shopping is the convenience. Not to mention, it is time-saving. It is the fact that more and more white collar workers as well as blue collar workers are under severe pressure of time-working, so they do not have much time to go shopping. Thanks to e-shopping services, customers easily get all the information of goods relating to price and quality to make a decision whether or not to buy them. As a result, people can spend their time with their families and do more productive things. For example, instead of spending precious time sitting in traffic, people will have time to do exercises or read books which is more beneficial than wasting time in the store. That being said, online shopping has gradually become a common shopping habit of people all over the world due to its convenience. However, the main drawback of online shopping is that people are unsure about the quality of the products. This is because the customers are unable to see or touch the products so the quality of products may be lower than its advertisements. Besides, the appearance of products is not as attractive as the photographs the sellers give because producers took photographs of their products with highly advanced technology. From my own experience, I used to buy a hair-dryer via shopee-a popular e-shopping app in Vietnam, it is smaller than the one I see in the photograph and it is not beautiful as it is shown in the app. Therefore, it is obvious that buyers may be cheated the quality of products they buy. In conclusion, online shopping has brought advantage, including the convenience for buyers, in addition to the disadvantage, the unguaranteed quality of products. It is personally believed that the advantage outweighs the disadvantage in the context of technological development.