Nowadays, online learning has developed with a fast pace. Does the advantages overweigh the disadvantages

Recently, online courses are becoming a common feature of the education system. While I accept that these trends can sometimes have positive effects, I believe that it is more likely to have adverse impacts. On the one hand, the main benefit of online lessons is that it provides students the flexibility of time and place, meaning that students can attend classes whenever and wherever is convenient and they can cover the material at their own pace. In addition, internet-based courses also allow pupils to reduce financial burden. It is far more affordable when compared to conventional classes because online learning can mitigate a lot of costs including transportation, meals and especially, accommodation. Better still, online learning offers open access to anybody who is willing to study, regardless of age, location, occupation, and background. To exemplify this point, learners from remote areas are able to attend an online class, though they are staying at home. However, I would argue that these merits are overweighed by the disadvantages for several reasons. Firstly, the internet-based lesson is less direct interaction. Students may not have the opportunity to engage face-to-face with their teachers and do not come into direct contact with other students. It could result in negative impacts on discussion, exchange of ideas, and peer support. Secondly, the online lectures can not offer practical skills, since students are restricted to studying through theory videos, slides without any practicing, in-person guidance, or experiments in the laboratory. Therefore, some subjects that traditionally require physical and hands-on experiences such as arts, science, acupuncture, … will seem to be harder for students. Finally, learning online is a challenge for students who lack independent learning skills. For instance, a student without self-direction and the ability to manage study hours effectively may find it difficult to focus on lectures and catch up with others. As a result, they would feel exhausted and have to suffer from depression. In conclusion, while I recognize the possible advantages of online learning, I consider it has far more downsides.