In this day and age, the affordability of higher education fee are becoming a topic of interest as tuition fee is rapidly increasing. It is argued that th

In this day and age, the affordability of higher education fee are becoming a topic of interest as tuition fee is rapidly increasing. It is argued that the government should abolish tuition fees in order to provide all students with free education. I personally believe that making university complimentary would do more harm than good. There are may compelling reasons why many opine that waiving tuition can be beneficial. To begin with, provision of free-of-charge education for all students may result in a more educated workforce. If the government were to abolish tuition fees, more people especially those of less income would stand a chance of getting to attend university. Therefore, the rate of bachelor's degree holder would increase which can contribute to a workforce which is more educated. Additionally, when the underprivileged have the opportunity to enroll in tertiary education, more people would be able to find a job to make ends meet or even land a high-paid job. Nevertheless, I believe that implementing a free-college policy would, in fact, have a adverse bearing on society as well as the economy. To begin with, as there are more college graduates, the job market can get more competitive. This may cause less chance of using the bachelor's degree as a passport to secure a job, let alone a high-paying career among others. Secondly, making everyone be entitled to university could put a strain on not only the economy but the government itself. As the cost required for such policy is enormous, the government must provide adequate funding for the education system. This can lead to tax hikes, reduced welfare or even budget deficit. In conclusion, while abolishing tertiary education is advantageous to some extent when it comes to a knowledgeable labor pool and job opportunity, I think that its drawbacks in terms of the economy and combative job market outweigh the benefits