Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

The role of science is indispensable in the development of civilization. However, nowadays in a number of countries, new students seem to be more interested in other subjects and very few apply for a science major in university. This is attributed to the requirements that has to be met for science subjects and career prospects in other subjects. In the long term this is a negative development. A few of the common reasons for the decline in the interest in science may be the fact that science subjects demand a very high academic performance and the growing job opportunities in other fields of study. In most universities, non-science subjects such as art, linguistics and business require a lower high school score for students to partake. Furthermore, there are more scholarships given in those subjects that motivate students to take interest. In contrast, many students find science subjects very difficult. On top of that, unlike the past, now students who study fine art or music can earn as much as those with a science degree. For example, more companies are hiring designers for advertising and illustrations and the growing film industry are demanding more classical music composers. Unfortunately, the insufficient workforce with science background will affect the development in society. The lack of engineers and researchers will hinder or slow further innovations. In addition, the cost for future developments will skyrocket because of the scarcity of scientists. This means the growth in sectors such as healthcare, infrastructure, forensics, etc. will be hindered. As a result, many of the problems in society will persist. In conclusion, many students tend to choose other subjects than science for the reason that it is easier and many job opportunities are present, but it is important to know that the consequences of this can be fatal to the future of the society.