Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

It is irrefutable fact to that the number of science is shrinking in majority of cities in different countries. This trend may have caused due to vivid reasons. The upcoming paragraphs will analyze some explanations for this situation as well as its influence on the society. There can be two crucial factors that contribute to the popular disinterest in science as a subject. To commence with, science subjects often require a lot of hard work and patience to score average grades, having such patience may prove challenging for many, especially when most of the non science students are indulged in leisure activities. Furthermore, employment opportunities science field has is limited and extremely competitive. For example, after devoting five years in graduation, there is a need to specialize further in some particular science subject to get good and highly paid job. This may discourage many students and thereby it may refrain the students from choosing science as their preferred subject. Consequently, the results are manifold of this aforesaid trend, as, if there is no admission in science subject, there will be a scarcity of human resources in science field. For example, if there is no one studying science, there will be a deficiency of expert medical practitioners or surgeons; this could create an imbalance in the society. Moreover, if there is no new practitioners or scientists formed, there will be an adding of pressure on the current practitioners and this is not a very favorable condition for the society. To recapitulate, I would reckon that, extended hard work and study pressure is making students alienated from science subjects, this trend can create serious imbalances in the contemporary society.