Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

It is the fact that there are a few of students chooses science-related subjects in current time. This causes from some transparent reasons and makes negative impacts on our society. There are two main reasons for this trend. The first reason is that science subjects are always considered as difficult themes, which cover a lot of ground and various practical researches. Therefore, students who choose these subjects need work hard and certainly passionate about their works unless they will soon drop out of college. Moreover, most of science majors take much time than others to gain bachelor degree, which made students hesitated whether they should choose science major or not. The second reason is in our society, there are few science recruitments which are just suitable for some high-flyers in university. Thus, other students have to suffer from unemployment or look up to other jobs. The shortage of science students has adverse influence on our society. Firstly, if many students do not choose science major, there will be lack of employees in this major. Therefore, it is impossible that inventions about technology, chemical, biology will be reduced and then, people’s living standard will not develop as fast as we need. Secondly, when most of students choose other majors such as finance or business-related majors, the number of job vacancies in these areas is scarce. Consequently, such university graduates would have to face unemployment, which increases burden on society. In conclusion, there are some factors making students do not want to choose science subjects and this problem can bring various unfavorable impacts.