Nowadays more people get married to someone of a different culture than they ever did.

Traditionally people get married to someone of the same culture, religion and country and sometimes they are so inclined to their customs that they cannot even imagine of getting married to someone who has a different cast and social status. Marriage brings two persons together and forms a family and with the time, marrying in a different culture (mixed marriage as they call it) has become common and socially accepted. Technological advancements, changes in social belief, and freedom for choosing a life partner among young have accelerated this trend and many of these cross cultural marriages indeed are working too well. To begin with, people have technologies on their hands and make friends across the border. An increasing number of people these days go to study in a foreign country and live in a cross-cultural environment. This has broken their outdated social belief to a great extent and they have a broader perspective of life and marriage. Moreover, young people have greater freedoms in choosing their life partners unlike the past when parents primarily picked a bride or bridegroom for someone. Society in most of the countries seems like have accepted this freedom and welcome marriage beyond the known boundary. Cross cultural marriage has several benefits. People have different inherent features and strength based on their culture, race, geographic location and family and it is often noticed that children of such cross-cultural couples are stronger and have diverse capabilities. Two people from totally different cultures, when get married, take time to understand each other and this often strengthens their conjugal relationship. They learn about other’s tradition, culture, belief, language and this opens up an entirely new world to them. Such marriage often teaches people to become more tolerant to other races, culture and custom and it often helps people to discover themselves from a neutral point of view rather than the biased view of inherent culture and tradition. This type of marriage has some disadvantages too. Family, friends and relatives often have misconceptions of such couples and keep their distance. Mixed marriages often force people to accept an alien way of life that they cannot completely cope with. Children in such families often find it hard to adhere to a particular culture and end up adopting a pseudo-cultural identity. Finally, such marriage often ends in bitter experience as couples fail to understand each other properly. To conclude, mix-cultural marriages are nowadays more accepted in our society and social changes, people’s freedom to choose a life partner have greatly made it possible. Despite some problems, this type of marriage is working too well to consider it a mainstream trend.