Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

Connecting with people over social media and other platforms has become very common these days as more people are preferring to meet one another on the internet rather than in person. In my opinion this is certainly a positive development. Online social interaction platforms provide a great way to keep touch with family & friends without having the need of going out of the house. People can celebrate important events with their families even when they are not in the same city. This also becomes useful in situations when someone is feeling down and needs to talk to a loved one but can’t go out to meet them. Digital media provides an immediate medium to call a friend and ask for help. Internet is also being used by many people to meet virtually to discuss work which can bring about better time management in a person’s schedule especially when they are having difficulty in taking time out for a meet up from their daily routine. Moreover, for many mothers and working women, this is a relief as it gives them the opportunity to take care of their family needs along with their work in a more suited manner. Virtual meetings help everyone to connect with one other across the globe. While the same may not be possible with personal meetings. As a result, we become part of a larger global community and network which is fruitful for one’s overall development. In conclusion, the development of social online platforms is beneficial in many aspects. Besides saving their time and effort, it fulfills their need of belonging by keeping them in touch with their close family network who may not be living near them while also making them part a of a bigger community across the world.