Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this is a negative development which can lead to isolation, potentially harmful situations and also problems later on in life

Recently, a myriad of people involved to socialise online rather than face to face. In my opinion, this is a positive effect for individual people, while this has disadvantages in the development of societies and local communities. A major contributing factor of individual, people can easy to find some new friends who share the same interest. In other words, people nowadays can stay in touch with their friends instantaneously though social networking sites like Facebook, Twitter and so on regardless of geographical barrier, whereas before the development of technology and online social networking, people rarely meet or communicate with people outside the immediate circle or community. In this regard, people can easy to develop a wide friend zone and their hobbies in online with people sharing the same interest. On the other hand, the effect that socializes online as chatting on Facebook has had on societies and local communities can be seen as negative. While people are taking part in the local community, they just choose to take more interest online. For instance, the teenagers in Hong Kong prefer to stay at home alone and have a chat with people who have never met face to face rather than hanging out with their real friends as well as joining social activities in local activities in the local community. Consequently, people are no longer keeping a close and supportive relationship. Furthermore, the community as a whole are increasingly becoming disjointed and fragmented. In conclusion, while there are advantages in individual, there are several serious drawbacks in the local community. Therefore, the government should more consider the impact of socialising online affecting the local community.