Nowadays more fathers remain at home taking care of children than in past. Why is it happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

Child rearing ought to be an equal responsibility for both mother and father. However traditional way of bringing the child up emphasizes more on duties of mother over father, although fatherhood when compared to the past has a significant development. This can be seen as a positive trend as it is advantageous for children themselves. The central reason for that is two fold, firstly, proportion of working women has increased in last two or three decades which means if financial burden can be shared by both parents then why not other responsibilities too? Understanding between both life partners compels fathers to look after their babies and therefore fatherhood has emerged to be an important as motherhood. Secondly, unlike few decades ago fathers emphasize their role to be guardian and friend for the children not only for the role of financial security provider. This is definitely a positive impact as at the end it has constructive influences over well development and mental growth of child. There is ample and powerful evidence that child brought up with both parents understands family values more likely than others and therefore has more gratifying personal and social life. Additionally, they learn the importance of work only instead of differentiating between work for men and work for women. Moreover, their knowledge is enhanced by experience from both mother and father and lastly fathers can have opportunity to create strong relationship as same as mother by spending more quality time with children. To conclude from aforementioned assertions, I family believe that self approach of fathers towards needs and comforts of the children by spending their ample time at home should be certainly hold in high regard and fatherhood will continue to flourish in future.