Nowadays, more and more young people play computer games. Do advantages overweigh disadvantages?

The number of young people who play computer games has been increasing considerably in recent years. Although playing computer-based games provides players with practical skills which are valuable in real life, it has a negative influence on their health, which far outweighs any benefits. On the one hand, there are various benefits of youngsters playing games. The main one is that playing these games equips the youth with a wide range of practical skills. In other words, winning or scoring high requires players various skills such as dexterity, quick observation, and making analysis. This helps them to enhance multiple skills, which are essential for their future career. For instance, before becoming a millionaire, Mark Zuckerberg had been a student who got addicted to computer games. Thanks to the valuable skills he gained from playing these games, he finally came up with the idea of creating Facebook, which is one of the most popular social network platforms these days. However, instead of trying to restrain themselves from spending too much time in front of the computer while playing, these skills can also be implemented when they play sports. On the other hand, there are a variety of drawbacks of playing computer games, one of which is that it has detrimental effects on the young's health. To be more specific, due to the attractive graphic design of computer games as well as their appealing tasks, most young individuals, who are not able to control their time, easily get addicted and sit in one place over a long period of time. As a result of this sedentary lifestyle, they are likely to encounter serious health problems such as obesity, diabetes, and certain types of cancer. For example, a recent study in 2019 from Hanoi University of Medicine and Pharmacy on two thousand students aged from 6 to 20 showed that among 10 who are suffering from obesity, 6 of them played computer games on a daily basis. This means that those who play these games frequently are likely to lack physical activities and form negative habits, which eclipses the advantage. In conclusion, while computer games allow young people to develop a wide range of skills, they have a bad effect on their health, which outweighs the merit.