In the past, knowledge was stored in books. However, now it is stored on the internet. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent decades, thanks to the advance of technology, using electronic books instead of traditional books has been increasingly popular. Although it has a negative influence on e-readers’ health, it is an eco-friendly alternative for people to protect the environment, which far outweighs any drawbacks. On the one hand, there are several drawbacks of reading books on the internet, one of which is that it has a negative influence on the health of readers. To be more specific, when people use ebooks, they have to look at the screens of devices, and they have to get exposed to the blue light, which is harmful for their eyes. Therefore, these people easily suffer from eye-related diseases. For instance, a recent study of Foreign Trade University in 2019 showed that 72% of students from this school were short-sighted since they read ebooks from 2 to 3 hours per day. However, electronic devices these days come with features that allow users to adjust the level of brightness according to the time of the day, which enables them to protect themselves from eye damage. On the other hand, there are various benefits of storing knowledge online, one of which is that this act is environmentally friendly. In other words, if traditional books are replaced by ebooks, the amount of paper produced will reduce tremendously, which means cutting down trees to produce paper will no longer be necessary. This might mitigate the effect of greenhouse gases and global warming in the long run. For instance, a recent study from Harvard University indicated that in 2019, the dominance of electronic books over printed books led to the decrease of 195 million plants logged, compared to the past few years, which lessens 10 times the amount of CO2 released into the air. This means that switching to ebooks enables people to protect their environment, which benefits their health in the future. In conclusion, while it is quite dangerous for people in terms of health concerns to store knowlege online, this allows people to protect their environment, which outweighs the demerit.