Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in life. what are the reasons? what are the effects on society and family life?

The general trend amongst couple these days is to delay the birth of a first child for several years. The career consciousness and financial stability are the main reasons behind it, but it has many harmful effects on family life and society. The newly wed couple may delay their first child with the intention that they will have one, once financially stable. They believe that the bringing up of a child requires a budget which can only be achieved after few years of job. For example, the daily requirements of a baby like pampers, formula milk and dresses require a handsome amount of money, which is not possible to arrange immediately after marriage so delaying the birth may be a preferable option. Another reason may be because they think the child would interfere with their initial romantic life. The initial few years of marriage are generally believed to be solely for the bride and groom and they should develop understanding during this period. Whereas, if the child comes whole of attention will be diverted towards him rather than each other. So, they decide that the birth of a baby should be postponed till they understand each other completely. The late childbirth has many effects on the society. Firstly, when the couples use contraceptive methods for the initial few years, they have been seen to be unable to conceive later in life. Although it is not proven by research, but observed in daily life that the females who used hormonal injections to avoid pregnancy, we `re unable to reproduce later in life despite several attempts. Probably these hormones have negative effects on female reproduction. This may result in husband getting married again for the child. Moreover, in eastern societies like us, children are believed to act as a bonding force to keep the husband and wife together. The absence of this tie may result in separation in early life which is witnessed by a high divorce rate these days. The society which has high a divorce rate is not considered a stable society. In conclusion, the deferral of a birth of babies may look apparently attractive and romantic initially, but in the long run proves detrimental for the relations. We need to spread awareness in society regarding this aspect.