Nowadays more and more museums and art galleries around the world are putting their material contents online. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There is a growing matter that is concerning museums and art galleries nowadays, that is whether displaying online art contents has more benefits or drawbacks. This essay will examine some negative effects of providing them online and, at the same time, offer some arguments in favor of this practice. Many argue that uploading artwork on internet can only lead to a decrease in their uniqueness because the essence and what push people to watch art is that it is something that step out of the ordinary, while having it on internet to everybody reachability would just make it less special. Not considering that this would definitely cause a fall of the income produced by tickets selling, generating a consequential monetary loss for museums that would find more difficult to overcome the various costs of works of art’s maintenance. Lastly, the spread of hypothetical knowledge that would come from this practice, because it would not be under any kind of guidance, will result in various art misinterpretations. However, I don’t think these arguments stand up to a scrutiny. The function of museums of art galleries is spreading knowledge about art, these kind of events can reach a greater number of people than canonical exhibition, giving a chance to enjoy art to people who can’t pay the entrance fee or the ones that for geographical reasons can’t visit the structure where it is displayed. On the other hand, after seeing artworks online, many people will acknowledge their existence and more likely decide to pay a visit to the museum in order to see them in reality. As regard for the monetary aspect, many of these activities give the spectators the possibility to become donator even through small donation. To sum up, although there might be some trivial downside for museums holding online exhibitions, I do believe that the advantages far overweigh the disadvantages. Museums and art galleries should increase this practice because it can mostly benefit them.