Nowadays many young people spend their free time in shopping centers. This has a negative effect on youths and society.

Spending leisure time on shopping is becoming increasingly popular among younger generations nowadays. I agree with the belief that the activity of passing time in shopping malls has detrimental effects on both youths and society. This essay will discuss how this choice negatively impacts the individual and the society as a whole. Firstly, adults preferring to spend their free time roaming malls are more vulnerable to impulse buying, which means purchasing unnecessary items that leads to waste of money. A recent survey shows that, 69 percentage of students among a sample of 250, admitted that they overspend and tend to buy things which are least needed. Therefore, it is evident that shopping as a pass-time activity has harmful effects on youths. Apart from individuals, the action of choosing shopping malls to spend the spare time also influences the society also. People passing time shopping with friends become less productive, which hinders them from being intellectually strong. A recent research on people's creativity shows that, people who spend their free time reading books over going to shopping plazas tend to be less creative. To conclude, in line with the view stated above, it is evident that younger generations who prefer to shop during their spare time leads to money waste and it make's the community less productive.