Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the world of work, many regulations are imposed to create a better environment and enhance an institution's performance. Some entities require the employees to be mindful of their appearances, while the others pay more attention to how well they could perform in very competitive circumstances. Thus, which one is better? Some people believe that to dress professionally will represent the company in a more credible way. There might be an opinion that we all are visual beings. People are keen to like something neat and attractive better than a casual one. Similarly, this way of thinking can be seen in the world of work that directly serves the customers. The companies will obtain people’s trust by giving a good representation and their employees are the direct example. For instance, in governmental institutions, as national bodies’ representation to the public at large, it is necessary for civil servants to dress smartly and professionally. Therefore, it is normal for them to possess a certain kind of uniform. Through this, the public will see the government as an accountable institution that will work prudently and ready to give services to their citizens. On the other hand, for companies that do not directly engage with the customers, some people believe that performance on the job itself is more significant than the appearance. For instance, in the software companies that pay more attention to their quality of work, appearance is not on the same level of urgency. They know that the performance in creating more sophisticated soft wares or applications will do more justice to their profit rather than wearing some clothes smartly. This same idea can also be seen in the factory. People who work in the factory usually do not really pay attention to their clothes. Even though they have uniforms, the way they dress does not become the main point to support their work. In my view, I believe that this question depends on the environment and the person. If their environment needs them to dress well, then the employees should pay adequate attention to their appearance. Even though, there are some people who believe that dressing up smartly could help them better their mood and will automatically improve their quality in the work.